Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 3: A First and a Favorite

We left the theater and started back to Anaheim.  Traffic on the 101 was at a crawl, but luckily it opened up when we got to the 5.  This was our first time staying at the Paradise Pier Hotel.  It was the only one of the Disney hotels that wasn’t completely outrageous even though the only rooms left were concierge level.  That was a nice little treat and I wish we had more days to really take advantage of it.

DSC00014– those beach ball pillows had a card with them saying they cost $65 if they end up in your luggage. DSC00015
DSC00011 DSC00012

The room was nice, not as magical as the Disneyland Hotel rooms, but the bed was comfortable and we had a good amount of space.  Walking through the Grand Californian makes the walk to the parks not so bad.

Today was the last day for the Expo and Moms wanted to check it out, plus I wanted some official merchandise.  My cousin wanted us to pick up the New Balance Minnie Mouse shoes for her.  As someone who isn’t really a runner, I didn’t know what most of the stuff they were selling was really good for, so I just mainly browsed.  In the official merchandise section I bought the RunDisney vinylmation and Moms bought me a marathon car magnet and the “I Did It” t-shirt.  It added some pressure since I couldn’t very well wear the shirt if I didn’t finish.
DSC00016 – the Mickey shoes were nice, but weren’t Mickey enough for me to bite the bullet. If they had some Star Wars running shoes I would’ve been in trouble DSC00017
DSC00018 – the Disney World Star Wars half marathon medals DSC00019– the Disneyland medals
DSC00020 – these signs were all around the hotel DSC00021

DSC00023-Pano – It’s nice that the Lilly Belle was out even with the Railroad closed

It was time to eat and we decided to eat in the parks.  We were trying to decide between Plaza Inn or French Market Café.  In the end the meatloaf at French Market won out.  The Cajun Meatloaf with the Worcestershire sauce is one of my favorite things to eat anywhere, not just at Disneyland.  The band was out and performing plus some of the train conductors at the New Orleans Square station were dancing along on the platform.
DSC00032 DSC00031
I noticed the train was in the station and they were letting people up there. I went up and took some photos and checked out the train up close for a little bit. I think with the Railroad closed it’s a great that people are able to get up close with trains, since you don’t normally get that view of them.
DSC00038 DSC00040
DSC00042 DSC00043
DSC00044

 

 

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 1: What Was I Thinking?

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 2: I Wake the Force Up for the Fourth Time

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 3: A First and a Favorite

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 4: Where I Accidentally Meet Thor

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 5: Remind Me Again Why I didn’t Do the 10k?

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 6: Celebratory Visit to the Disney Parks

Disneyland Star Wars Half Marathon Trip Report – Part 7: A Quick Visit to DCA

Leave a Reply

